Shelter 1125


TULSA, OK (January 4th, 2020) – VYPE Magazine and Shelter Insurance are proud to announce the winner of the Mr. Football Oklahoma Award, Owen Ostroski of Holland Hall. Ostroski becomes the ninth player to win the coveted award. Ostroski is the first Mr. Football Oklahoma to represent Holland Hall.

The Shelter Insurance Mr. Football Oklahoma Award recognizes the outstanding athletic achievements of Owen Ostroski and the high standards of athletic excellence and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the field, which distinguishes Ostroski as Oklahoma’s best high school football player this season.

Ostroski finished an historic season with the Holland Hall Dutch by winning the Class 3A state title over Lincoln Christian. The win marked the first state football title for Holland Hall as a member school of the OSSAA. Under the leadership and guidance of head coach Tag Gross, Ostroski helped lead the team to a perfect, 12-0 season.

During the season, Ostroski made a total of 94 tackles (48 solo) with an amazing 41 tackles for loss. He forced five fumbles with one recovery. Ostroski added 41 quarterback hurries and 15 sacks. On special teams Ostroski blocked three punts. For his career, Ostroski recorded 341 tackles and 39 sacks.


VYPE Magazine Publisher Austin Chadwick said of Ostroski, “We could not be more proud of the football player and young man Owen has become. For a defensive lineman to win Mr. Football showed that his production was off the charts. Anyone who had watched him play understands that he completely changed the way opposing teams approach game plans. A complete game changer. The kid is a war daddy.”

Ostroski joins former Mr. Football award winners; Trey’Vonne Barre’ - Jenks (2012), Kai Callins - Guthrie (2013), Mason Fine - Locust Grove (2014), Cooper Nunley - Jenks (2015), Shamari Brooks - Union (2016), Joshua Proctor - Owasso (2017), Noah Cortes - Broken Arrow (2018), and Brennan Presley - Bixby (2019).

Other finalists for the Shelter Insurance Mr. Football award included: Grant Lohr - Jenks, Mason Williams - Bixby, Qwontrel Walker - Stillwater, Bryce Drummond - Pawhuska, Ethan Downs - Weatherford, Jordan Mukes - Choctaw, Luke Tarman - McGuinness, Kendal Daniels - Beggs, Collin Oliver - Edmond Santa Fe, Gage Laney - Owasso, Ben Harmon - Cashion, Logan Smith - Sulphur, Carson May - Jones, and Kody Kroth - Purcell. Grant Lohr of Jenks High School won the Fan’s Choice Mr. Football award, voted on by fans at

The Shelter Insurance Mr. Football Oklahoma Award is voted on by members of the media to include print, radio and television across Oklahoma. Ballots are sent to more than 70 members and voting takes place over a month-long period. Voting ended on December 21st, 2020.

Congratulations to Owen Ostroski of Holland Hall – 2020 Mr. Football Oklahoma.

For more information on the Shelter Insurance Mr. Football Award, please contact Brad Heath at 918-806-2756.